Song Review#1 – Follow You, Bring Me The Horizon

“Cross my heart and hope to die
Promise you I’ll never leave your side”

Album : That’s The Spirit

Year of Release: 2015

One of BMTH’s newest songs, off their newest album, it channels a much more thoughtful vibe than that of their louder, earlier releases. It depicts a kind of tragic love story, in which a lover is besotted to their other half that they are willing to die with them and stay with them beyond death.

“So you can drag me through Hell
If it meant I could hold your hand”

The lyrics tell us that no matter what the other half does, no matter what suffering or difficulties they will cause or have to go through, the lover will forever love them and will never be without them.

“So dig two graves cause when you die
I swear I’ll be leaving by your side”

The music itself is almost hypnotic, possibly mirroring the entranced state of this lover. It makes use of this sense of distance that could also be a part of this sad relationship.  Its breakdowns are thoughtful but the drop is passionate and attention-grabbing. It makes you really listen to the lyrics at hand and you really notice how sorry they sound.

I love this song because I think the meaning behind it is so beautiful and I love how the band toned down their sound in this album as a whole (but don’t get me wrong, I also love their old stuff!). I think the lyrics are supposed to be somewhat positive although the piece as a whole makes the theme seem sad.

Take a listen 🙂

WARNING : The official video contains some disturbing themes, proceed with caution.

 

Copyright notice – All Opinions are mine, the song lyrics quoted and the videos however belong to their rightful owners – No copyright infringement intended. For promotional purposes only. Support the artist/s by purchasing their single/album
Leave a Reply

