Album Review#3 – Gravity (The Acoustic Sessions, Vol. II) , Against The Current

Released: 2015

“Its a brand new day, it’s never too late to start, Can’t live this life with an empty heart..”-Brighter

What I love the most about this album is that it is made up of ALL of the Against The Current songs from their original (non-acoustic) album Gravity.Where Against The Current is a alternative rock band, they sound just as amazing on this acoustic album.

“Can you save me now? When the ground drops out I get lost in the clouds, Save me now, You were my gravity” – Gravity

Not one of their songs loses its appeal, which I find happens quite often with songs being re-recorded acoustically. The songs you find on this album are pretty upbeat and thoughtful, definitely family friendly too! It’s just one of those albums you can play anywhere and it’s chill 🙂

“Don’t lie, bright eyes; Is it me that you see when you fall asleep? Cause I know it’s you I dream about every night” – Dreaming Alone

I really love the use of instrumentation throughout the album. The band make use of acoustic guitars, piano and a cajon thought the tracks in accompaniment to Chrissy Constanza’s powerful vocals. These instruments work SO well for the arrangements of their tracks.

My favourite track is probably “Gravity” – I think this is because I just love the vocal line here…I think the arrangement of this is so cool since it doesn’t make the track any less powerful than the full rock arrangement 🙂

Take a listen to some of their tracks!!

Gravity –

Talk-

Leave a Reply

