Song Review#20 – Shelter, Porter Robinson & Madeon

Okay so i’m not sure if any of you have heard this track, I believe it came out in 2016 originally but more recently (not that recently actually over the past say…5/6 months?) it has become recognised for it’s music video. The new music video was a short movie – anime collaboration between the musical artists, A-1 Studios and Crunchyroll.

I think the song is SO catchy and fun. It has this dance feel to it with heavy beats and use of vocal samples. It has this vocal line with wonderful thoughtful lyrics and these vocal excerpts running throughout making it seem really funky.

“And it’s a long way forward, so trust in me, I’ll give them shelter like you’ve done for me”

I think I love the production of it the most – somehow, even if my biggest interest lies in the general “Dance” genres, I can’t say I’ve ever heard something like this. This is just so catchy and gets stuck in your head easily. It’s massively memorable for me and I love everything about it. There’s something about this song that makes you really happy when listening to it. I know I’m gonna have a really good day if this song comes on when I’m walking to college 🙂

“Shelter tells the story of Rin, a 17-year-old girl who lives her life inside of a futuristic simulation completely by herself in infinite, beautiful loneliness. Each day, Rin awakens in virtual reality and uses a tablet which controls the simulation to create a new, different, beautiful world for herself. Until one day, everything changes, and Rin comes to learn the true origins behind her life inside a simulation.” – Youtube Video description

In terms of the video, It’s gorgeous. I really love everything about it. I don’t know if I ever mentioned but I am a massive fan of anime. I think I found this through that and it interested me so much. The story is so touching and sad but it has this amazing message.

“Even if those memories make me sad, I’ve got to go forward believing in the future. Even when I realise my loneliness, and am about to lose all hope, Those memories make me stronger. I’m not alone, because of you.” – Rin in video..

Everything about this combo is beautiful and I love to bits – Congratulations on this amazing work to Porter Robinson & Madeon, A-1 Studios ad Crunchyroll ❤

Take a listen AND watch the short film 🙂

Leave a Reply

